Independent Design Magazine

Arata Isozaki wins the Pritzker Prize 2019

Arata Isozaki wins the Pritzker Prize 2019

Arata Isozaki Architect of the month Linesmag


The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually “to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture”. Jay and Cindy Pritzker founded in 1979. Certainly, they believed that a meaningful prize would encourage and stimulate not only a greater public awareness of buildings but also would inspire greater creativity within the architectural profession.

More about the Prize

Pritzker prize is considered as the Nobel Prize of architecture and the profession’s highest honor. The award consists of $100,000 (US) and a bronze medallion. Moreover, the winner receives the prize at a ceremony held at an architecturally significant site throughout the world. The seven-member jury of the annual prize, included US Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, British architect (and 2007 laureate) Richard Rogers and Ratan Tata, former chairman of the Indian conglomerate Tata Group.

Arata Isozaki (born in 1931) Japanese architect from Ōita received the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2019.

Firstly, Isozaki’s career has spanned more than six decades. In addition, over 100 completed buildings throughout Asia, Europe, North America, the Middle East, and Australia. His major works include Ceramic Park Mino and Art Tower Mito in Japan, Pala Alpitour and Allianz Tower in Italy, the Qatar National Convention Center and Shanghai Symphony Hall.

Further, Arata Isozaki demonstrated a worldwide vision that was ahead of his time and facilitated a dialogue between East and West. Therefore, he emerged as an international leader in architecture in the 1980s, with his first overseas commission, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (1981-1986 California,USA).

International Projects

Other prominent international works, of his more than one hundred total built projects. That include: Palau Sant Jordi (1983-1990 Barcelona, Spain), designed for the 1992 Summer Olympic Games; Team Disney Building (1987-1990, Florida, USA); Shenzhen Cultural Center (1998-2007 Shenzhen, China); Pala Alpitour (2002-2005 Turin, Italy), ice hockey stadium for the 2006 Winter Olympic Games; Central Academy of Fine Arts, Art Museum (2003-2008 Beijing, China); Allianz Tower (2003-2014 Milan, Italy); Qatar National Convention Center, (2004-2011 Doha, Qatar); Shanghai Symphony Hall (2008-2014 Shanghai, China); and Hunan Provincial Museum (2011-2017 Changsha, China).

pritzker_prize_Arata Isozaki_Entrance hall, the Museum of Modern Art Gunma (1974) yasuhiro ISHIMOTO Linesmag
MOMA Gunma. Photo Courtesy of Yasuhiro Ishimoto
pritzker_prize_Arata Isozaki Art Tower Mito, photo courtesy of Yasuhiro Ishimoto
Art Tower Mito, photo courtesy of Yasuhiro Ishimoto
pritzker_prize_Arata Isozaki_Overall view from southwest, Qatar National Convention Center (2011), Hisao SUZUKI Linesmag
Qatar National Convention Center, photo courtesy of Hisao Suzuki

Isozaki is the 46th Laureate of the Pritzker Prize, and the eighth to hail from Japan. The 2019 Pritzker Prize ceremony will take place in France this May, accompanied by a public lecture in Paris.

Architect graduated from Misr International University. Explorer, Passionate writer and designer, the main goal is to step out of the comfort zone and to learn everything about the world of Arts and Architecture.